Rugby World Cup

Queensland Women’s Maroons squad named

Queensland Rugby League is pleased to confirm the Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons squad for the June 24 clash against New South Wales.

The Maroons will be coached by former Queensland and Australian representative Tahnee Norris, who has named 22 players following the conclusion of the 2022 BMD Premiership season on Sunday.

The squad includes three players who took part in an epic grand final between the Central Queensland Capras and North Queensland Gold Stars at Moreton Daily Stadium.

They are Capras fullback Tamika Upton and premiership-winning pair Destiny Brill and Romy Teitzel.

The extended Maroons squad also includes emerging talent Keilee Joseph and Sara Sautia, both of whom represented the Queensland Under 19s last year.

Making their debuts are former rugby sevens stars and current NRLW Premiership players Emily Bass and Evania Pelite.

A familiar face also returns to the Queensland line-up, with experienced forward Steph Hancock rewarded for her strong form and work ethic over the past six months with a spot on the interchange bench.

The Maroons squad will get together next Saturday, before assembling in camp on the Gold Coast on June 16.

With Queensland’s talent pool growing each year, there were numerous players who were unlucky to miss selection, including the Gold Stars’ grand final player of the match Emma Manzlemann.

The Maroons, who will go in search of a third-straight win over NSW, will again be captained by Ali Brigginshaw.

Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons
Tamika Upton – Central Queensland Capras
Emily Bass – Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Evania Pelite – Souths Logan Magpies
Shenae Ciesiolka – Brisbane Tigers
Julia Robinson – West Brisbane Panthers
Tarryn Aiken – Tweed Seagulls
Ali Brigginshaw – Brisbane Tigers
Chelsea Lenarduzzi – Burleigh Bears
Brittany Breayley-Nati – Souths Logan Magpies
Shannon Mato – Tweed Seagulls
Tallisha Harden – Burleigh Bears
Tazmin Gray – Burleigh Bears
Destiny Brill – North Queensland Gold Stars
Lauren Brown – Burleigh Bears
Jessika Elliston – Tweed Seagulls
Steph Hancock – Souths Logan Magpies
Tiana Raftstrand-Smith – Burleigh Bears
Zahara Temara – Burleigh Bears
Karina Brown – Burleigh Bears
Romy Teitzel – North Queensland Gold Stars
Keilee Joseph – Central Coast Roosters – NSWRL
Sara Sautia – Souths Logan Magpies

The post Queensland Women’s Maroons squad named appeared first on Asia Pacific Rugby League.

Exit mobile version